New Processor

The engines cannae take it cap'n

Moderator: [RS]Tefty

New Processor

Postby [RS] SonicDM » Sat Oct 01, 2011 3:27 pm

How do I know what processor my MB will take?

It's an ASUS P5N32-E SLI PLUS but I'm not sure what quad core to buy.

Yours sincerely

PC Noob
Image
User avatar
[RS] SonicDM
Executive Officer
 
Posts: 6903
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:16 pm
Location: Location, Location.

Re: New Processor

Postby [RS] Hughie » Sat Oct 01, 2011 5:19 pm

Here you are mate... http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_ ... Plus/#CPUS

*Edit* Whoops,sorry,never read you post correctly.I'm not sure which cpu you need.
Image
Image
User avatar
[RS] Hughie
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 1292
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 9:55 pm
Location: The Midlands

Re: New Processor

Postby Didge » Sat Oct 01, 2011 5:28 pm

I have the same MB! I've got a 2.6 Intel quad installed but that's prolly 4 years old still works fine :)
I Invented the UberScrim :)
User avatar
Didge
Sergeant
 
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 5:26 pm
Location: Bournemouth

Re: New Processor

Postby [RS] Jonno » Sat Oct 01, 2011 6:41 pm

cote 2 duos or core 2 quads. ie: q8450 runs at 2.66ghz easily overclocked for over 3 years at 3200ghz, runs bf3 no probs. but if you look at i3, i5 i7, you need new motherboard as well, different pin configuration on cpu.
Image
User avatar
[RS] Jonno
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2642
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 8:22 pm
Location: in the land of boredom

Re: New Processor

Postby [RS] SonicDM » Sat Oct 01, 2011 6:59 pm

So something like this would be okay?

http://www.ebuyer.com/164520-intel-core ... 80580q8400
Image
User avatar
[RS] SonicDM
Executive Officer
 
Posts: 6903
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:16 pm
Location: Location, Location.

Re: New Processor

Postby [RS] Nick_Stone » Sat Oct 01, 2011 8:48 pm

What have you got at hte moment? CPU wise?
Image
User avatar
[RS] Nick_Stone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3744
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:29 pm

Re: New Processor

Postby Didge » Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:11 pm

[RS] SonicDM wrote:So something like this would be okay?

http://www.ebuyer.com/164520-intel-core ... 80580q8400


Yep! :)
I Invented the UberScrim :)
User avatar
Didge
Sergeant
 
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 5:26 pm
Location: Bournemouth

Re: New Processor

Postby [RS] SonicDM » Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:27 pm

[RS] Nick_Stone wrote:What have you got at hte moment? CPU wise?


I've got an Intel Core 2 6420 @ 2.13GHz.
Image
User avatar
[RS] SonicDM
Executive Officer
 
Posts: 6903
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:16 pm
Location: Location, Location.

Re: New Processor

Postby [RS]BrainDamaged » Sat Oct 01, 2011 9:47 pm

That CPU would be fine, you could also get a good Q6600secondhand and clock it, they have been known to do 3.6-4.2Ghz on air. I've seen them selling alot recently on the overclockers members market for around £50
Image
Yep Thats right Brain Damaged! If you see me on the battlefield you would understand!
User avatar
[RS]BrainDamaged
The Muffin Man
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:42 pm
Location: Bath

Re: New Processor

Postby [RS] Jonno » Sun Oct 02, 2011 9:50 am

[RS]Didge wrote:
[RS] SonicDM wrote:So something like this would be okay?

http://www.ebuyer.com/164520-intel-core ... 80580q8400


Yep! :)

as he said :)
Image
User avatar
[RS] Jonno
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2642
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 8:22 pm
Location: in the land of boredom

Re: New Processor

Postby [RS] SonicDM » Sun Oct 02, 2011 10:51 am

Kerching, ordered :)
Image
User avatar
[RS] SonicDM
Executive Officer
 
Posts: 6903
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:16 pm
Location: Location, Location.

Re: New Processor

Postby [RS] SonicDM » Mon Oct 03, 2011 3:57 pm

Installed and the pc is dead, any ideas?
Image
User avatar
[RS] SonicDM
Executive Officer
 
Posts: 6903
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:16 pm
Location: Location, Location.

Re: New Processor

Postby [RS]BrainDamaged » Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:41 pm

ANy post beeps? Any bent pins under the CPU?

The CPU support list says it is supported have you updated the bios to latest?
Image
Yep Thats right Brain Damaged! If you see me on the battlefield you would understand!
User avatar
[RS]BrainDamaged
The Muffin Man
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:42 pm
Location: Bath

Re: New Processor

Postby [RS] SonicDM » Mon Oct 03, 2011 4:54 pm

No noises or anything on screen. I've never updated the bios, wouldn't know how.
Image
User avatar
[RS] SonicDM
Executive Officer
 
Posts: 6903
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:16 pm
Location: Location, Location.

Re: New Processor

Postby [RS] Nick_Stone » Mon Oct 03, 2011 5:03 pm

Version 0805
Description P5N32-E SLI Plus BIOS version 0805
2007.08.27 update
1. Enhance CPU overclock capability of FSB1333 processors
2. Add new CPU uCode to support new processors
3. Enhance memory compatibility
4. Enhance overclocking capability
5. Enable support for ASUS SK-2690 keyboard
6. Enable support for Razer Copperhead USB Mouse


Not even the newest update.

Look http://uk.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_775/P5N32E_SLI_Plus/#download for the list of BIOS upgrades


http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/list ... 20Plus&p=1
This says your mobo doesn't support that CPU.
Image
User avatar
[RS] Nick_Stone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3744
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:29 pm

Next

Return to Technical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron