Help Hughie fix BF3

The engines cannae take it cap'n

Moderator: [RS]Tefty

Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS] Hughie » Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:03 pm

In the hope that someone can shed some light on my problems.

I think I can recall 3 types of crashes.
1- BF3 locks up and I get a 'Firefox has stopped responding' message.Have to Ctr/Alt/Del to close BF3 even though it says it is still running.

2- Game graphics go 'weird' .Instant lock-up.The outlines of stuff in-game is highlighted in primary colours.Have to re-boot at this point.

3- More rarely,Nvidia reports that the driver has stopped responding but then recovers.

I have latest drivers,even removed them and re-installed.
CPU is over-clocked,I did think about putting it back to std.

I don't want to re-format and re-install everything unless I have to.

All my other games are fine.

Thanks in advance guys.
Image
Image
User avatar
[RS] Hughie
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 1292
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 9:55 pm
Location: The Midlands

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS]BrainDamaged » Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:10 pm

Drop your overclock off and see what temperature your hardware is running at sounds like you have overheating problems!

Both 2 and 3 in your list are heat/overclock issues. download the open hardware monitor and see what all your temps are.
Image
Yep Thats right Brain Damaged! If you see me on the battlefield you would understand!
User avatar
[RS]BrainDamaged
The Muffin Man
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:42 pm
Location: Bath

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS]Majinvash » Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:45 pm

Run it battle log under windows explorer.. I was having massive issues with firefox on a fresh install of W7 Home and BF3 ..

Was fine under explorer
Image

BF2's Greatest Sniper :)
User avatar
[RS]Majinvash
Sergeant
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 11:39 am
Location: Forest Moon of Endor

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS] SonicDM » Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:38 pm

Google Chrome is okay too.
Image
User avatar
[RS] SonicDM
Executive Officer
 
Posts: 6903
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:16 pm
Location: Location, Location.

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS]Tefty » Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:57 pm

I'd say have a go with the other browsers (Chrome works fine for me) first before taking any other action
<Rogue>
Image
User avatar
[RS]Tefty
The Boss
 
Posts: 6294
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:41 am
Location: Wolves

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby WopArse » Tue Nov 01, 2011 11:30 pm

Firefox and Nvidia have known issues, Chrome works for me too.
Image
Image
Image
WopArse
Sergeant
 
Posts: 500
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:49 pm
Location: Leicestershire

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS] Hughie » Wed Nov 02, 2011 7:53 am

Thanks guys.
I will have a 'play' tonight and then hopefully join you for some uninterrupted action :thumbup:
Image
Image
User avatar
[RS] Hughie
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 1292
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 9:55 pm
Location: The Midlands

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS] Hughie » Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:19 am

I just did some quick temp checks whilst in-game.

CPU 60-65 degrees (max 69)

GPU 87 degrees (max 87)

Those seem fine to me? Maybe the GPU is a little warm but how do I make that better other than after-market cooling which to be honest the card shouldn't need? It's not that old.

I also get a 'BF3 is not responding' just as I launch the game so maybe heat isn't an issue at that point.

I'm going to try IE or Chrome next.

Will report back later on but you will probably notice something is wrong when I leave game/TS or you hear my fist destroying my keyboard. :evil:
Image
Image
User avatar
[RS] Hughie
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 1292
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 9:55 pm
Location: The Midlands

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS]Tefty » Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:13 am

Whats your card?

I'm not sure on the process for Nshitia cards, but if your on ATI just fire up Catalyst Control Center and raise the fan speed a bit, I've got 2 profiles set up, BF3 and Normal - I can show you how to do them tonight
<Rogue>
Image
User avatar
[RS]Tefty
The Boss
 
Posts: 6294
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:41 am
Location: Wolves

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS] SonicDM » Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:38 pm

I very often get the old BF3 is not responding first time I try and join a game so I just shut it down and reload it. Never had a crash ingame though and my PC isn't the best in the world.

Are you Vista or W7?
Image
User avatar
[RS] SonicDM
Executive Officer
 
Posts: 6903
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:16 pm
Location: Location, Location.

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS] Hughie » Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:47 pm

I have a GTX 570 and Win 7 64 bit.
I don't recall seeing a fan speed option in the control panel though Tefty.
Image
Image
User avatar
[RS] Hughie
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 1292
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 9:55 pm
Location: The Midlands

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS]BrainDamaged » Wed Nov 02, 2011 6:55 pm

What's the rest of your system spec?

To be honest your CPU is rather warm even when using the generic cooler!
Image
Yep Thats right Brain Damaged! If you see me on the battlefield you would understand!
User avatar
[RS]BrainDamaged
The Muffin Man
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:42 pm
Location: Bath

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS] Hughie » Wed Nov 02, 2011 8:06 pm

Brain...
It's an i-7 920 running at 3.4 ghz on a Gigabyte EX58-UD3R.
Memory is 6 gigs of Corsair XMS3 tri-channel.
CPU cooler is an Akasa AK-967 Nero direct contact heatpipe.
Image
Image
User avatar
[RS] Hughie
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 1292
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 9:55 pm
Location: The Midlands

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS] Final_Decapitation » Wed Nov 02, 2011 9:09 pm

That is fairly warm for a 3.4Ghz clock....mine at about 4GHz gets like 55-58 under load or so iirc...will check later when not so busy.

I have a Thermaltake one, seems quite snazzy and good. :P
User avatar
[RS] Final_Decapitation
Mr Pernickety
 
Posts: 3923
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 10:31 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Help Hughie fix BF3

Postby [RS]BrainDamaged » Wed Nov 02, 2011 11:20 pm

Hughie the temps you have posted are at the thermal limits of the CPU and I'm surprised its lasted this long! What your case air flow like? any case fans blowing air into and out of your case? After a quick google through the Nvidia forums it would appear the GTX570 are running anywhere up to the low 90's and not crapping out.

I say drop your CPU overclock and see how you get on!
Image
Yep Thats right Brain Damaged! If you see me on the battlefield you would understand!
User avatar
[RS]BrainDamaged
The Muffin Man
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:42 pm
Location: Bath

Next

Return to Technical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron