upgrade time!

The engines cannae take it cap'n

Moderator: [RS]Tefty

upgrade time!

Postby [RS] Mad Dogg » Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:30 am

Ok lads, need the wisdom of the collective.

Looking at an upgrade soon, how does this bundle seem?

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showprodu ... 53&subcat=
(^would upgrade to 8gbram)

thoughts? I want a Crossfire board as I've been able to source a 2nd 5770GFX card to match my first.

:mrgreen:
Former<Rogue> Leader
Image
User avatar
[RS] Mad Dogg
Helo God
 
Posts: 10781
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:07 am
Location: Asgard

Re: upgrade time!

Postby [RS]BrainDamaged » Sat Jan 28, 2012 12:14 pm

Yup very nice board and CPU at a reasonable price :) If I had the money I would be right there!!

5770 crossfire........... I would not bother, Give it 3 months for the fanboys to start buying the 7970's and the price of the 6970's will half!
Image
Yep Thats right Brain Damaged! If you see me on the battlefield you would understand!
User avatar
[RS]BrainDamaged
The Muffin Man
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:42 pm
Location: Bath

Re: upgrade time!

Postby [RS] Mad Dogg » Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:33 pm

5770 it is though - I have one already, and bought a cheap companion board. Trying to do this as cheap as poss. My 5770 runs BF3 fine, so 2 boards should breeze it! The problem is my CPU, its just too old to keep up
Former<Rogue> Leader
Image
User avatar
[RS] Mad Dogg
Helo God
 
Posts: 10781
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:07 am
Location: Asgard

Re: upgrade time!

Postby [RS]BrainDamaged » Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:49 pm

Yeah I have a 5770 as well and it runs fine but two will not provide much improvement!
Image
Yep Thats right Brain Damaged! If you see me on the battlefield you would understand!
User avatar
[RS]BrainDamaged
The Muffin Man
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:42 pm
Location: Bath

Re: upgrade time!

Postby [RS] Jonno » Sat Jan 28, 2012 7:04 pm

what cpu you got, because i thought you only upgraded last year ?
Image
User avatar
[RS] Jonno
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2642
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 8:22 pm
Location: in the land of boredom

Re: upgrade time!

Postby [RS] Mad Dogg » Sat Jan 28, 2012 8:31 pm

[RS] Jonno wrote:what cpu you got, because i thought you only upgraded last year ?


i got a quad core 6600, bout 3 yrs old.
Former<Rogue> Leader
Image
User avatar
[RS] Mad Dogg
Helo God
 
Posts: 10781
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:07 am
Location: Asgard

Re: upgrade time!

Postby [RS] Jonno » Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:41 pm

be honest i cant see that being a problem. i had q4550 which was 2.66ghz over clocked at 3.2ghz, 4 iseries ago, never thought i would upgrade but i did to a i7 2600k. but that was because of my graphics card burning up the gtx 260 when alpha testing bf3. alfie needed new bit for his pc so i gave him mine, otherwise i would still have same shit bar graphics card. his only problem now is the graphics gtx 550 or something. the q4550 was alot better cpu then the 6600, but i dont really think that it is an issue in regards to the latest games, going 2 up graphic wise would sort out any gaming issues you have without spending more money on unnecessary bits. but if you have cash flow then the new i7bundle from novatech for under £500 pounds is a good buy :) spend your money more wisely at the i46 bring your pc :P
Image
User avatar
[RS] Jonno
Lieutenant
 
Posts: 2642
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 8:22 pm
Location: in the land of boredom

Re: upgrade time!

Postby [RS] pants_marshall » Sun Jan 29, 2012 8:15 pm

Maddy - crossfire doesnt work in BF3, at least not with my 2 5770's, due to ATI's shitty drivers. Better off getting a better GFX card all together really or just stick to the single 5770.
[RS] pants_marshall
 

Re: upgrade time!

Postby WopArse » Sun Jan 29, 2012 9:05 pm

Sounds like a classic picnic error. :D
Image
Image
Image
WopArse
Sergeant
 
Posts: 500
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 3:49 pm
Location: Leicestershire


Return to Technical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron