Ivybridge

The engines cannae take it cap'n

Moderator: [RS]Tefty

Ivybridge

Postby [RS]Tefty » Mon Apr 30, 2012 12:20 pm

Ivy-bridge are released now, and their prices seem quite low compared to when the Sandybridges were released.


I've currently got a first gen i7, from over 3 years ago.

Should I get this?

Intel Core i7 3770K 3.5GHz Socket 1155 8MB Cache £249.93
Asus P8Z77-V LX Socket 1155 VGA DVI HDMI 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard £93.89
Corsair 32gb (4x8gb) Ddr3 1600mhz Dominator Memory Kit £217.02

???

My current memory is triple channel so i need to ditch it :(
<Rogue>
Image
User avatar
[RS]Tefty
The Boss
 
Posts: 6294
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:41 am
Location: Wolves

Re: Ivybridge

Postby [RS]PITBULLY » Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:00 pm

should this be the chip for me tefters as i want the dogs yah know
Image
ImageImageImageImageImage
User avatar
[RS]PITBULLY
War Arranger
 
Posts: 2391
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 7:54 pm
Location: IPSWICH SUFFOLK

Re: Ivybridge

Postby [RS]Majinvash » Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:01 pm

Mate unless you are getting bad frame rate on your current PC I wouldn't bother, unless you have money burning in your pocket :P

Don't get me wrong the new Ivy Bridge kit is lush, its what we are putting in the simulators at Itec but the original i7 kit is still very good.
3years old or not. Not really sure how massive a difference you could see in your gaming.

If you wait a month or so the pricing on the 680 Graphics cards are going to drop to the 570 pricing.
Image

BF2's Greatest Sniper :)
User avatar
[RS]Majinvash
Sergeant
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 11:39 am
Location: Forest Moon of Endor

Re: Ivybridge

Postby [RS]Majinvash » Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:09 pm

[RS]PITBULLY wrote:should this be the chip for me tefters as i want the dogs yah know


Yes Ivy is the best you can get at the moment and for the money the 3770K is excellent!
Image

BF2's Greatest Sniper :)
User avatar
[RS]Majinvash
Sergeant
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 11:39 am
Location: Forest Moon of Endor

Re: Ivybridge

Postby [RS]Tefty » Mon Apr 30, 2012 4:56 pm

I am always thinking of an upgrade vash, and to make the most of the latest stuff, i'll need a new mobo for starters, so this would be stage 1.

Later stages would be the Sata 3 SSD and new graphics card.

Its not a question of "do I need it", but more "do I desire it" :clap:
<Rogue>
Image
User avatar
[RS]Tefty
The Boss
 
Posts: 6294
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:41 am
Location: Wolves

Re: Ivybridge

Postby [RS]Majinvash » Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:16 pm

Cant argue with that .. I am currently eying up a 2k Mountain bike... Just cos.. not sure why.. but i know i will end up getting it :P
Image

BF2's Greatest Sniper :)
User avatar
[RS]Majinvash
Sergeant
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 11:39 am
Location: Forest Moon of Endor

Re: Ivybridge

Postby [RS] Mad Dogg » Mon Apr 30, 2012 5:41 pm

[RS]Majinvash wrote:Cant argue with that .. I am currently eying up a 2k Mountain bike... Just cos.. not sure why.. but i know i will end up getting it :P



^^ Its called Man Maths, as theorised by James May:

"Man maths. It's more of a philosophy. It's a way of justifying wasting money on toys. Therefore I have four cars but no stair carpet," says James.
Former<Rogue> Leader
Image
User avatar
[RS] Mad Dogg
Helo God
 
Posts: 10781
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:07 am
Location: Asgard

Re: Ivybridge

Postby [RS]BrainDamaged » Mon Apr 30, 2012 7:43 pm

Man maths is full of win in my book! just trying to work out if I can afford a 6990 now the prices have dropped :D
Image
Yep Thats right Brain Damaged! If you see me on the battlefield you would understand!
User avatar
[RS]BrainDamaged
The Muffin Man
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:42 pm
Location: Bath

Re: Ivybridge

Postby [RS] pants_marshall » Mon Apr 30, 2012 7:59 pm

[RS]Majinvash wrote:Cant argue with that .. I am currently eying up a 2k Mountain bike... Just cos.. not sure why.. but i know i will end up getting it :P



OOO linketh that bike
[RS] pants_marshall
 

Re: Ivybridge

Postby [RS]Majinvash » Mon Apr 30, 2012 10:34 pm

Well not sure weather to get a hard tail or a full suspension ..

This was the FS that took my eye http://www.cyclesurgery.com/specialized ... duct/42352 but going to the big branch at Liverpool Street on Sat so will have a good look around!
Image

BF2's Greatest Sniper :)
User avatar
[RS]Majinvash
Sergeant
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 11:39 am
Location: Forest Moon of Endor

Re: Ivybridge

Postby [RS] pants_marshall » Tue May 01, 2012 8:05 pm

I ride a hardtail after my full sus got nicked, still miss that bike even now - i've never had so much fun. If i get another bike it certainly will be a full suspension, but depends where you ride, i like the off road in the rough......woof woof
[RS] pants_marshall
 

Re: Ivybridge

Postby Hamps » Fri May 04, 2012 3:57 pm

yes m8 they are very nice processors :)
got mine on tuesday
i5 3570k @4.6ghz, asus p8-z77 mobo and some Geil D/C 2133 gaming ram 8gigs
its allot quicker than my i7 930 and cheaper to run
my 3dmark 11 is now scoring 9980+ from 8000, heaven is scoring 1920+
sata 6 is very fast with me vertex 3 550mb/s reads and 520 mb/s writes
the intel smart cache is fantastic as well (uses 20 gigs of ur SSD as a data cache for your HDD's turning them into hybrib disks)
the GPU boost tech along side the VirtuMVP is a nice feature (uses the onboard intel HD4000 & the gtx580 for gaming)
total cost £340
sold old gear and its only cost 150 to upgrade
Hamps
Noob
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: Ivybridge

Postby Hamps » Fri May 04, 2012 4:03 pm

Hamps wrote:yes m8 they are very nice processors :)
got mine on tuesday
i5 3570k @4.6ghz, asus p8-z77 mobo and some Geil D/C 2133 gaming ram 8gigs
its allot quicker than my i7 930 and cheaper to run
my 3dmark 11 is now scoring 9980+ from 8000, heaven is scoring 1920+
sata 6 is very fast with me vertex 3 550mb/s reads and 520 mb/s writes
the intel smart cache is fantastic as well (uses 20 gigs of ur SSD as a data cache for your HDD's turning them into hybrib disks)
the GPU boost tech along side the VirtuMVP is a nice feature (uses the onboard intel HD4000 & the gtx580 for gaming)
total cost £340
sold old gear and its only cost 150 to upgrade



Why do you need all that ram??
32bit apps can only use 2gigs of ram (which allmost all games are)
Hamps
Noob
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: Ivybridge

Postby [RS]BrainDamaged » Fri May 04, 2012 4:15 pm

Incorrect, a 32bit o/s can only use 3.5Gb of ram where as a 32bit application running on a 64bit o/s can use all that is available to it!
Image
Yep Thats right Brain Damaged! If you see me on the battlefield you would understand!
User avatar
[RS]BrainDamaged
The Muffin Man
 
Posts: 937
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 11:42 pm
Location: Bath

Re: Ivybridge

Postby [RS] Nick_Stone » Fri May 04, 2012 5:05 pm

Our Tefty likes his HD video rendering and having a enormous e-peen ;)
Image
User avatar
[RS] Nick_Stone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 3744
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:29 pm

Next

Return to Technical

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron